Saturday, May 29, 2010

Things I Dislike

I hate it when people use my stationery and don't return them. I know I know, its only a pen, its only a pencil, but it irritates the hell out of me. And the worst part is I don't have the guts to ask the other person to return it. It seems cheap for some reason. I just feel awkward. But the other person is as much to blame. I mean how can you just shamelessly keep someone's stuff. and this obsession is not only over stationery, I am also possessive about my clothes and money and novels and stuff like that. Irresponsibility is something I just don't like.

I hate people with no civic sense. This encompasses urinating in public, littering, spitting paan etc. I find it absolutely repulsive. I also feel all men who pee in public should be punished severely, preferably have their dicks chopped off or there should be a system where he gets electrocuted. I've seen men pee right next to a urinal. In this case, their eyes should be popped too. Littering should be liable under capital punishment.

I hate people who don't forget to mention the price tag of everything they purchase. I too have this habit, but in my case the opposite holds true. I boast when I buy things for cheap, like a hundred rupees tee to getting my tattoo done for just thousand bucks.

I hate it when I'm listening to music and people change it, or stop me when I'm singing.

I hate repeating things. But somehow I've gotten used to it. I have too many deaf friends. No, but it might just be my accent.

I hate it when people use my toiletries and don't use it responsibly. I mean, don't you just hate it when you open the flap of your sunscreen and you see all the sunscreen oozing out and in some cases there are parts of it has even dried. I also get irritated when people squeeze the toothpaste tube right in the middle instead of sqeezing it from bottom up as it should be done.

I hate bad handwritings and bad accents. Its such a turn off. It does not matter how good-looking a person is if that person does not know how to speak you're sure to enter into my bad books. I also dislike people who forget their own language just cuz they've spent six months in some other place or just cuz they went to some international school for just two years.

I abso-fucking-lutely loathe tomatoes. Cooked, roasted, boiled, raw. I don't care in which form it is, I hate it. I like Tomato Soup though.


I hte ppl who ryt lky dis. R U mentally impaired? Cn U nt spl? rytng lyk dis robs da wrds of ne senmnts wtsovr.

I dislike vegetarians. They're such impediments to a perfect lunch or dinner. I hate it when I go out expecting a full out non-veg spread and I have to compromise cuz one person wants vegetarian food. I mean why would anyone want to eat vegetables when they're eating out. You eat vegetables at home everyday. It makes absolutely no sense to eat vegetables when you eat it everyday at home. That just sucks.

Hmmm..I think that's about it. There are many many things I hate but I can't remember them right now.
Oh yes, I also hate forgetting things.

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Breaking Out by Marge Piercy

My first political act? I am seeing
two doors that usually stood open,
leaning together like gossips, making
a closet of their corner.

A mangle stood there, for ironing
what i never thought needed it:
sheets, towels, my father's underwear;

an upright vaccumn with its stuffed
sausage bag thet deflated with a gusty
sigh as if weary of housework as I,
who swore i would never dust or sweep
after i left home, who hated
to see my mother removing daily
the sludge the air lay down like a snail's track

so that when in school i read of Sisyphus
and his rock, it was her I
thought of, housewife scrubbing
on raw knees as the factory rained ash.

Nasty stork of the hobnobbing
doors was a wooden yardstick dusty
with chalk marks from hem's rise and fall.

When I had been judged truly wicked
that stick was the tool of punishment,
I was beaten as I bellowed like a locomotive
as if noise could ward off blows.

My mother wielded it more fiercely
but my father far longer and harder.
I'd twist my head in the mirror to inspect.
I'd study those red and blue mountain
ranges as on a map that offered escape,
the veins and arteries the roads
I could travel to freedom when i grew.

When I was eleven, after a beating
I took the ruler and smashed it to kindling.
Fingering the splinters I could not believe.
How could this rod prove weaker than me?
It was not that i was never again beaten
but in destroying that stick that had measured my pain
the next day i was an adolescent, not a child.

This is not a tale of innocence lost but power
gained : I would not be Sisyphus,
there were things that i should learn to break.

Sunday, May 16, 2010

The Night I met a Vampire

I met a vampire when I was in the second year of my college. It was around ten at night and I was returning home after six hours of play rehearsals. The stretch from the Metro station to my house was one with trees on both sides. The area which is bustling during the day with car mechanics and car audio shops was totally deserted at that time of the night and not a soul was in sight. It was a peaceful night with the full moon illuminating through the trees and forming sinister patterns on the road below. These shapes seem to contort themselves into strange forms because of the rustling tree leaves that swayed under the gentle breeze. This ambience accompanied with Lionel Richie singing ‘hello’ through my headphones was perfection personified.

I was jus about to enjoy it when I sensed footsteps behind me. Now I have always been pissed scared of ghosts. I am more scared of ghosts than people, rapists, robbers etc. My theory is, if a rapist or robber comes in front of you, you can always scream for help or better yet pick up a stone hit them and run away; but what can you possibly do to a ghost? You can’t possibly scream for help, you’re going to be too shocked at the moment to even utter a word. You can’t run away, they’ll jus conjure right in front of you! The fact that I was reminded of the story called ‘strange meeting’ from my class ten English short stories text book didn’t help either. The story that described two friends, who meet their dead friend two months after his death, let loose a string of horrid images in my mind. Abba started singing ‘Mamma Mia’ and calmed my racing heart. I told myself repeatedly that it’s nothing but my mind playing tricks on me. But I was proved wrong when suddenly in front of me stood a phantom in all its glory; unkempt hair, ragged clothes. My over-imaginative mind’s eye could almost see clearly the next morning’s headlines: “Girl Found Dead. No Visible Signs of Physical Violence. Vampire Attack Suspected.”

The vampire was taking in slow deliberative breaths and I think I even saw his fangs glisten in the moonlight! The moment was wrought with tension. My heart pounded in my ears more loudly than the sea beating against gigantic rocks. I stood frozen-not a muscle twitched in my body. The sweat beads rolling down from my forehead down my cheeks was washing away every ounce of nerve that I was trying so hard to muster and before I could figure what was happening, he made a quick pounce at me. He held on to my right arm and shook me up. I figured he was doing some sort of vampire ritual before drinking my body dry of every droplet of blood. But one good thing that the shaking did was it did bring me back to reality, and a little voice in my mind went “hey wait a minute. Vampire? Seriously? Are you freaking kidding me?! You’ve been reading too much of the Twilight series! And just look at him. He looks no way close to Robert Pattinson! You are getting robbed you dumbo!”

So I did what I had to do. I shut my eyes tight, took in a deep breath and let out the loudest scream I could manage; the loudest in the history of screams; the kind of scream that sends chills down your spine.
When I opened my eyes the vampire had vanished.
Gone!
Poof!

When I relate this incident to my friends, I call it the night I met a vampire and I like to think when he relates this incident to his friends he calls it the night he met a chhudail!

Thursday, May 13, 2010

I Have Become Comfortably Numb

Why do I feel like im missing out? Jus going over some pictures and the accompanying comments on Facebook made me realize that I had already drifted away from people I once considered my lifeline long before college ended . I donno why but I don feel anything anymore. Im not selfish or stone hearted. They were the best bunch of people I’ve come across in my life. Kind. Thoughtful. Caring. They were everything good. When I first got to know them I was in cloud 9. I couldn’t believe that it was possible for so many good people to be present in one place. Concentrated goodness. I honestly felt this way. But I donno why in my last year, the most crucial year of college I jus stopped connecting to a lot of them. Feeble individual ties were maintained, but the feeling of belonging to a group, the previous sensation of feeling sheltered had vanished towards the end. In fact I started avoiding hanging out in groups. I started to prefer being alone or with only individuals. Not in a group. Why did I do this? I question myself but I haven’t figured the answer myself. One of them told me that ever since I started working id become too wild. But I don think that’s the case. I’ve come to a point where I don’t understand clearly the decisions I take or don’t give a damn about the consequences. It’s escapist perhaps. My mind jus goes numb. I wish I could tell them individually, or even explain to them a small percentage of how much I regret the fact h=that I jus grew aloof. But the truth is I don understand it myself. What other reason can there be? I don feel accountable anymore, not to anyone. It’s easier. But I don’t like it. I want to go back to being the old me, someone who could feel and react like a normal human being, with tears, passion, laughter. I don’t feel anymore. I’ve lost the zeal for things. Lost motivation. Lost interest. In everything. That’s jus sad cuz its not like im married and fat and ugly. Im young. At my youth’s prime. I should be out there doing things with an attitude to conquer the world. Instead I waste my days pining over things that I can’t even define. Over the past. Over what I could’ve done and what I could’ve achieved. Regrets. But since I know I can’t do anything about it I jus let it be. I’ve settled comfortably in this muck of regrets and self pity. Don’t feel like coming out of it. I think im gonna stay here awhile.

Thursday, May 6, 2010

All For Love

Has anyone ever tried out this application called Zoosk on Facebook? It’s basically this online dating portal where you create a profile with your picture and all the details you wanna give, like where you stay and what kind of partner you’re looking for. Stuff like that. Check out the following profile introductions. Who knows you might jus find the boy of your dreams!!

velintine
40, Male interested in Women
Story: i m amarried man i have two 3/4 f kids n a beautifull 25 y old wife n both of us like to meet new couples any time
Ideal Date: 14/2 /1985

Ronit
20, Male interested in Women
Story: i am really shy persone who like girls but they dont have guts to say to girls will u be ma frnd over all u like to say me choclate boy
Ideal Date:i dont know

XXXSANJUTHELOVE
25, Male interested in Women
Story: I LOVE MY FREINX
Perfect Match: ONE BEAUTIFUL GIRL

sexysushil
25, Male interested in Women
Story: POLITE, SIMPLE NATURE, HOT AND ROMANTIC
Ideal Date: ask to in this no-9953051394

So commo’ girls! Whom do you choose? SexySushil? He’s even given his number. Call him up! He’s waiting to do something hot and romantic with you!! (wink-wink)

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

It Wasn't Just Winter Love

Last December I fell in love. May be it was just the cold chills of the season that made me long for someone’s arms to cuddle, sip hot chocolate fudge with... I donno. In this situation I did what anyone else would’ve done, I showered all my love on someone who, turns out, didn’t deserve it at all… again. But man was I madly in love. I even wrote an email to that person but somehow never procured enough guts to actually send it. I’m a chicken. I admit it. But I’ve been through this enough times to know that it hurts like hell. Yet I persisted. Needless to say it ended as suddenly as it had started. Summer came and the melting snow carried away my love with it. But the roots of the winter flower remain and haunt me, hurt me still. No amount of summer heat can kill the deep roots that have anchored within me. I’m stupid. This email is all that remains of my winter love:


“I donno what to do...it’s a phase I’ve been going through for a long time. Now I know, you'd told me that you could never look at me that way, but I can’t help but fall for you. I know it sounds clichéd but I cannot even express in words what I feel for you. Call me crazy, walking around with my heart on my sleeve, but all I really want is to be loved. Question is, will you give me that love. I can never tell you enough the things I'll do for you. I’d love you more than anyone has ever loved you. I will love you till my heart explodes. I know our days together are numbered and we don’t have a 'future', but wouldn't you rather we spend this time with everything we have to offer for each other. No regrets. I know for a fact that when you leave my heart will suffer a pain so deep I can only imagine in nightmares, but I’m willing to risk my sanity, my future, a broken heart for the few months I might have with you. You’re always on my mind. Can’t sleep at night. All I do is relive our moments together, read your texts over and over again, even if it’s a simple one just asking a question. I don’t want to sound obsessed, but the truth is, I am. I am obsessed.

You’ve turned my world upside down. At this time in my life, I have no clue what’s going to happen next. My life is in the biggest mess possible. Nothing is going right. But I know, for a fact that if you just so much as give me a quarter of your love, my life will be made. Everything will fall into place and I'll be the happiest person on this planet. I can’t stop smiling when I think of you and I’m smiling ALL THE TIME. So much so my cheeks hurt. There’s so much love bottled up inside me that I have to cry just to release it. Cuz I can’t think of any other way. It’s painful, it hurts. It hurts that you are right there in front of me and I can’t help but love this beautiful creature. What I want is for us to hold hands and walk down the street, eat momos outside college, go for movies...I hate it when I’m with you and I have to share your attention with someone else. When I’m with you, I don want anyone else. I don’t need anyone else. I don’t want anyone between us. I want it to be just us.

I am so scared to lose you. Not that you're mine right now or anything. All I want is to see you at least once a day. Have you talk to me at least once a day. All I want is for you to love me. You can’t even imagine the number of times I check your profile jus so I can see what’s happening in your life. Pls love me. Pls love me. That’s all I ask from you. I know it sounds ridiculous. Man I can’t stop thinking of you. You’re on my mind like all the time. I can’t sleep at night. You might find it hard to believe but even inside the exam hall, all I could do was think of you. I think I’m going crazy. And only you can help me get my sanity.

"Love, unrequited, robs me of my rest:
Love, hopeless love, my ardent soul encumbers:
Love, nightmare-like, lies heavy on my chest,
And weaves it into my midnight slumbers!"

Talk about a loser huh. Gosh I don’t understand why I do this to myself. All the f**kin time. I’m sick and tired of this s**t. Ima take this heart of mine and throw it in the garbage bin, where it belongs.