India's celebrating its 63rd Independence Day today. I'm in an auto with a friend and we're cruising down Moolchand. I look around and i realize, we Indians really have a thing for everything English/American, don't we?
I look at the number of cars around and man does Delhi have plenty of 'em. I see a grey Innova, a red Swift, a green Beat, a black Safari, a silver Honda City, a maroon Wagon R, a black Esteem, a red Accent...
I look at billboards advertising townships around the NCR, plenty of 'em too. Fortune Arcade. Golf City. Jaypee Greens. Wisteria Lane. Really? Wisteria Lane?
Yeah. We're all proud Indians. Aren't we, y'll?
We laugh at people who can’t speak English. Look at them condescendingly. Knowing English is the ticket to a good life. Parents work day in day out to educate their kids in English medium schools. Schools that don't teach them the difference between 'then' and 'than', 'stationery' and 'stationary', 'bought' and 'brought', 'effect' and 'affect'.
Kids score a ninety percent in English and fail in their own language paper. More and more students are opting for French and Spanish instead of Sanskrit and Hindi in schools. Everyone wants to go to the US for higher education. It does not matter if you get admission in an obscure university located in the middle of nowhere in Southern part of America where it’s blazing.
Yeah. We're proud Indians, aren't we?
We prefer eating in a McDonalds or Subway and getting a fat ass over a place serving Indian khana any day.
Yeah. We're proud Indians, aren't we?
Ok. Maybe it’s just the AC. But what I'm tryna say is, why the hell is coolness equated with all things English? Wasn't two hundred years enough?
HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY!!
No comments:
Post a Comment